KOOP Honors Outstanding Volunteers

Posted on: December 19, 2022
Filed under: ,
018b Honoree plaque

December 17th marked KOOP’s 28th year on the airwaves, and we celebrated by inducting the first of our Honorary Members. Honorary Membership allows us to acknowledge and honor outstanding service to KOOP Radio, either through exemplary programming or through their service to the station. We are pleased to grant this designation to the following volunteers and staff:

Len Brown: Host of Country Roots for many years, began his broadcasting career in New York City before moving to Texas and volunteering at KOOP.

Gilka Cespedes: Host of The Andean Hour, airing on KOOP since the earliest days of the station. A long-time champion for indigenous Andean music, preserving Andean culture, Ms. Cespedes is also a brilliant pianist and performer.

Louis Harrison: Originally airing on KUT, Mr. Harrison brought the show American Pop to KOOP’s airwaves until his retirement, making the classic American songbook come to life for listeners.

Edward Johnson, or Magic ELJ: Host of Soul Vaccination for many years during Monday afternoon drive time. Magic is a production wizard and led the production team at KOOP for many years.

Kim McCarson: Executive director of KOOP during a time of unprecedented growth that in many ways marked the station’s transition to adulthood. Ms. McCarson also served on the board of directors for many years.

Katie Vitale: Host of the women’s health and reproductive justice show Issues for your Tissues. Ms. Vitale also served on KOOP’s Programming Committee and led the Board of Directors as president, working to bring gender parity to the leadership here at the station.

Keith Davis: Co-founder of Strictly Bluegrass, Mr. Davis was an exemplary bluegrass programmer and a dedicated member of KOOP’s Training Team.

Tom Pittman: Co-host of Strictly Bluegrass, Mr. Pittman was also a founding member of the Austin Lounge Lizards. You can now catch him on the air on WCNW in Nashville as the host of Country Gold and The Gospel Truth.

Andrew Dickens: Mr. Dickens’ name may not be familiar to listeners, but without him KOOP would most likely be on the airwaves today. His leadership as board president and technical skills have shepherded KOOP through almost every crisis the station has faced.

And finally, Mr. Rod Moag, who was the first voice heard KOOP’s airwaves in 1994. Mr. Moag was the co-founder of Strictly Bluegrass and host of Country Swing and Rockabilly Jamboree on Thursday mornings for 25 years. Mr. Moag is also a muti-talented recording artist and enthusiastic shortwave hobbyist, as well as Professor Emeritus in language from the University of Texas. Not only was Mr. Moag awarded Honorary Membership, studio one is now christened “The Rod Moag Studio.”

Congratulations to all our Honorary Members, and thank you so much for your contributions to KOOP Radio!